Another One Done

Standard

Well, book 4 is now being finalized. As always, when I finish a book, I find it to be not as great as it once was. In this case, I don’t think I ever liked it.

I know it’s strange to say that. I loved writing this book. It was a huge challenge, however, the end result is sort of…blah. A large amount was removed, and no matter how I looked at it, it felt like something was missing. I did what was suggested, and find this end result to be wanting. I have a personal word count I insist on maintaining, and this one is under by a landslide. Still, it is what it should be. Perhaps if I could afford an awesome editor, they would have pointed something out. One day! For now, I will leave the true judging to my readers.

I have already begun book 5. It will be the last in this particular timeline, and I already can see it being epic. I worry though. After book 4 turning out to be what it is, I wonder if I’ve lost my touch. I’m certain many out there think this way. It’s frustrating.

Writer’s block hasn’t been an issue for me, yet. I do, however, suffer from too much information flying about at once. Usually I just write it all down, and see where it fits as I’m writing. So far, this has been the case for book 5. My notebook is filling up with where I want this to go, and the file itself is growing.

Don’t worry. Book 5 doesn’t end the characters we’ve come to love/hate, they just live for a time without quests or other silliness getting in the way. (Book 6 already has an outline) Once this one is done, I plan on working on the Order of Maget Trilogy. Now that is going to be a fun ride! (by fun I mean ridiculously difficult and an absolute awesome time)

Look for book 4, The Saviour’s Empire. It will be released on June 15th. I have already planned a giveaway on Goodreads, which will run April 23rd until May 7th. You win an advanced signed copy. The least I can do for something so weird and annoying as this book!

I hope most who read it, enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

