Having Fun Being An Indie, Canlit Author

Standard

Every July 1st is #indiebooksbeseen day. It has other hashtags, but the gist is to promote being a self published author. In my neck of the woods, it is also Canada Day. I love writing, but spending time with friends and family trumps anything else, usually. This year, I did not participate. In fact, barely anything came up on my Twitter feed, which was odd. Perhaps I should have done something.

Last year I posted an image of my self with my 1st novel. Didn’t expect anything, and was impressed with the likes it got. (honestly most days I think no one checks my Twitter posts..@melarandra) Self publishing gets a bad rap, so it was nice to see people supporting others.

As of right now, I have three novels, and one novella. I pondered the idea of posting, but it was a beautiful day, and we had friends over to celebrate Canada’s birthday. So it got pushed to the side. Days later I wondered if perhaps I should post an image, but life got in the way. Here we are, already into August, and I remembered that I had wanted to do something. I fiddled, and came up with this image.

Books image

I love being an #indie author. I also love being #canlit. When the majority of fantasy authors live in the USA or UK, I feel like it makes us Canadian ones all the more precious. (insert a LOTR reference, or best Gollum impression)

You could do a service by reading an #indie author’s work, and better yet, leaving a review.

Do my novels stand up to the other guys? Depends on who the other guy is! I would say, for the most part; yes. They need improvement, but every one I write gives me more insight into this magical world writers exist in. I won’t be a household name, and no one will line up to make my novels into movies, but I do have readers. Funny thing is, I write just because I want to. One day I might change my goals, but for now, this is groovy. I am having a great time with this, so I am going to keep it up for as long as I can!

If you would like to try my novels, the eBook for Children of the Sun and Moon (book 1 in the series) is free. You can find it on Kindle USA and Kindle Canada, where it is usually free. (kindle is weird like that) Or Kobo, where it is always free.

Leave a Reply

