Inspiration, imagination and a little bit of What The Hell Am I Doing!

Standard

I ask myself that last one a lot. What am I doing? Writing? Or at least attempting to, I guess. Then putting it out there for people to see! I must be mad! No one is ever going to buy my craptacular (love using this) novels!

I will never be considered a great, or even good, author. I’m average. Yet, I will keep creating, and putting them out there. I’m addicted now, and just can’t see myself stopping anytime soon.

I have an over active imagination. My husband makes jokes about how I always look like I’m figuring things out and plotting. It’s true, so I really can’t beat him for stating it. I have a notebook nearby so I can jot down the new ideas I keep getting. Right now it’s re-writes for the novella, and chapter ideas for the 3rd book. I also try to create links I can use for the 4th book, and so on. I do have outlines for 4, 5 and 6 already. The ideas may change as the 3rd slowly comes along. Things usually do!

My inspiration, as I have said many times, is the world around me. From the first memory I had about being outdoors, until now. This area I live in is amazing. I do have a new inspiration though, my aunt. She is a real published, legit author. (novel Meadowlark comes out Sept 15th) My dad’s side of the family has all sorts of artsy types. My life was filled with music and singing. (I suck at it, but love to do it anyway) I didn’t know she had written a book, and went through all the fun steps with agents, publishing house etc. I found out after I had decided to self publish my first one. I am in awe at how awesome her book sounds, and can’t wait to read it!

I should clarify, she is nothing like me! Her first draft is what my finished novel looks like. She writes a column for a little paper, and has a blog. I subscribe to both. I really don’t know why I was shocked to hear she wrote a novel, she is an amazing writer! I will never be as good as her, but it is inspiring to know that she is published, and out there in the world! Book signings start soon and I wouldn’t be surprised to hear it is going to be made into a movie.

This brings us back to ‘what the hell am I doing!’ Honestly, I really don’t know! Guess I will just have to sit back and let life surprise me!

One thought on “Inspiration, imagination and a little bit of What The Hell Am I Doing!

Leave a Reply

